Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
No, you are only allowed to carry a maximum of a 10-round magazine; however, the CCW License does not license does not define magazine capacity. As California firearms laws are subject to change, it is the responsibility of the CCW licensee to ensure the firearm and magazine adhere to California law.
Show All Answers
No, unless the CCW License notes loaded and exposed is authorized, as licenses' to carry in such fashion may be granted in counties of less than 200,000 residents.
A condition for CCW Licenses issued by the Morgan Hill Police Department requires all CCW licensees to immediately inform any peace officer, upon initial contact, they are carrying a concealed weapon. However, there is no statutory requirement to do so.
You cannot carry in California, as California does not issue licenses to non-residents, nor does California recognize any other states' CCW Licenses/Permits.
Yes. CCW applicants shall have an AFS record which associates the weapon(s) to be listed on a CCW License to the applicant, as the applicant needs to be recorded as the owner of the firearm.
At the very least, you are subject to prosecution for a misdemeanor.
Yes. As a CCW licensee, you must notify our CCW Point of Contact immediately at 669-253-4966 if arrested.
No, however, our Communications Center is open 24-hours for law enforcement to contact and confirm your status as a CCW License holder.
The firearm(s) you list on your CCW application must be associated to you via an AFS check. “AR Pistol” platforms and similar handgun styles are prohibited. The handgun must be capable of being concealed upon a person and the ammunition must comply with State and Federal regulations.
No. Per California Penal Code 29800(a)(1), it is a felony to be a convicted felon in possession of a firearm.
Having a Restraining Order, temporary or permanent, places you on a prohibited list- Penal Code Section 26185(a)(2) -Prohibiting you by state and federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm. A letter informing you that your CCW License is suspended will be mailed and you will need to surrender the license.
To reinstate the license, you will need to reapply and resubmit fingerprints to clear the status with our department and the State of California.
To make any amendment or modifications to your CCW License, including adding or changing a firearm, you need to apply online and select Modification. Complete the entire application including what you are changing. Do not enter any information in Permitium that is not currently correct. Please read the instructions carefully. There is a $10 for amendments/modifications.
Applicants must provide proof of qualification via certificate from one of the department-approved trainers with any firearm listed on their CCW License.
No, only handguns are allowed to be used for concealment purposes.
You must have the homeowner write a letter stating you live with them full time, have the letter notarized AND bring the property tax bill or grant deed (name on letter must match name on property tax bill or grant deed).
You must be a Permanent Legal Resident/Alien or a U.S. Citizen to apply for a CCW. Visa status is not acceptable for applying for a Concealed Weapon License.
This link will take you to the Frequently Asked Questions section for the State of California regarding firearms laws.
When you are issued your CCW License, you will receive a plastic card and a paper license (FB4501). The State of California Department of Justice recognizes the FD4501 as the actual CCW License. The plastic CCW card is designed to fit in a wallet but however, is NOT an official CCW License.