Morgan Hill Fire Department History

The Morgan Hill Fire Department was established on 17 January 1907, in June a hose cart was purchased. In November of 1908 a 36" fire bell was ordered for a cost of $70.81, in February 1914 the use of this bell to signal curfews was discontinued due to firefighters mistaking its ringing for a fire alarm. On May 15, 1917 a combination chemical truck was purchased. This truck was eventually sold to the Burbank Fire District for $1,000 on June 22, 1926. On December 1, 1920 the town purchased a Ford La France Type E combination chemical fire truck for the sum of $1420. In 1926 the town passed a resolution that prohibited the city's fire trucks from leaving the city limits.
A truck alarm system was installed in 1967. Dispatching via Santa Clara County Communications was established in 1968. Dispatching was changed to via CDF from 1970 until 1993. The El Toro fire station was constructed in 1975, and the Dunne Hill station in 1978.

Morgan Hill's Chiefs
1907 Henry Velt
1909 George F. Boutell
1915 A.E. Buchheister
1920 William Rice
1926 William Buchheister
1930 Jay Robertson
1934 Lloyd W. Skeels
1936 Ted Rizer
1938 Lee Rosa
1941 Adrian O'Connell
1946 Lee Rosa
1965 Manuel Solis
1967 Bert Embree
1972 Bill Lane
1974 Brad Spencer

“I have no ambition in this world but one, and that is to be a fireman. The position may, in the eyes of some, appear to be a lowly one; but we who know the work which the fireman has to do believe that his is a noble calling. Our proudest moment is to save lives. Under the impulse of such thoughts, the nobility of the occupation thrills us and stimulates us to deeds of daring, even of supreme sacrifice.”